Walkenhorst Motorsport to defend Total 24 Hours of Spa victory in 2019

11 Décembre 2018

Walkenhorst Motorsport will return to the Total 24 Hours of Spa in 2019 to defend the breakthrough victory it secured at this year’s race.

The German squad caused an upset when it took outright victory at the 70th running of the Belgian endurance classic, delivering an accomplished performance with its BMW M6 GT3. Philipp Eng, Tom Blomqvist and Christian Krognes were faultless on their way to victory, stunning their more fancied rivals.   

Following their landmark success, the Walkenhorst outfit plans to contest the full Intercontinental GT Challenge campaign in 2019, fielding a brace of BMW M6 GT3s in the five-round championship. BMW factory drivers Augusto Farfus and Martin Tomczyk have been confirmed as two of the six-strong crew that will represent the team.     

This will see Henry Walkenhorst’s squad return to Spa, with the 24 Hours representing the third round of next year’s Intercontinental championship. Further information regarding drivers and Walkenhorst Motorsport’s wider programme is expected in due course. 

The announcement was made during the BMW Group Classic in Munich on Friday evening (7 December). During the same event, the Walkenhorst team was awarded the inaugural “BMW Customer Racing Win of the Year” for its triumph at the Total 24 Hours of Spa. The award was chosen online by BMW fans, with the Spa victory securing 27 percent of votes from a selection of 10 highlights.